At Home with Children’s Fantasy Author Victoria Simcox


Victoria, known as Vicki, was born in 1966, in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, to an Austrian immigrant mother, and a Dutch immigrant father. She has one older sister, Jeannette. When Vicki was 7, she moved with her family to British Columbia. In her early twenties Vicki moved to Western Washington and now resides in Marysville WA. She has been married to her husband Russ, for nineteen years and they have three children; Toby, who is fifteen, Kristina, thirteen, and William, eight. She has home schooled her children for the past nine years, and she also teaches elementary school art. Vicki’s other family members are, a Chihuahua, named Pipsy, two cats, Frodo, and Fritz, and two parakeets, Charlie, and Paulie. She did have a pet rat named Raymond when she started writing The Magic Warble, but sad to say, he has since passed away of old age. Vicki enjoys writing, painting watercolors, watching movies, hanging out with her family, and chauffeuring her kids around to their many activities. Her favorite author is C.S. Lewis, and one of her fondest memories is when she was twelve. She would sit at the kitchen table and read The Chronicles of Narnia to her mother while she cooked dinner. These magical stories were very dear to Vicki and she remembers wishing, If only I could go to Narnia like Lucy and Susan. Vicki hopes that maybe, she can touch someone with her story in a similar way. You can visit her website at

  1. Where do you live? Marysville WA
  2. What is the weather like? 21 degrees (cold)
  3. Have you lived there very long? 7 years
  4. Would you rather live somewhere else? no
  5. Are you married or single? married
  6. Do you have kids? yes 3
  7. Where were you born? Scarborough Ontario Canada
  8. What was your childhood like? adventurous
  9. What was it like growing up as a teen? What did you do for fun? avareage, hung out with friends
  10. Back to the present, what’s your favorite room in your house? my bedroom
  11. Do you have an outside job? art teacher
  12. What is your favorite thing to do on your day off? write
  13. What’s your most favorite thing to eat for breakfast? fiber fruit shake
  14. Do you have any pets? dog, 2 cats , a parakeet
  15. Do you know your neighbors? yes
  16. Pepsi or Coke? Pepsi
  17. Favorite time of year? Summer
  18. Favorite color? green
  19. Favorite book? Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
  20. Does your car look better than your house? no
  21. What’s on your mousepad? my family on vacation in Mexico
  22. How many times do you let the phone ring before you answer it? I let the recorder get it
  23. What’s the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning? coffee
  24. Chocolate or vanilla? both
  25. Do you like to drive too fast? no
  26. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal? no
  27. If you could meet one person dead or alive, who would it be? CS Lewis
  28. What’s your favorite alcoholic drink? don’t drink
  29. What is your zodiac sign? The fish one (not in to it though)
  30. If you could have any job that you wanted, what would it be? writer
  31. What’s under your bed? probably dust
  32. Is the glass half empty or half full? full

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s