Home Sweet Home with Maryann Paige, Author of Hidden Shadows

Standard

• Maryann Paige
• Hidden Shadows
• Paranormal/Suspense
http://www.fictionwise.com/ebooks/b78291/Hidden-Shadows/Maryann-Paige/?si=0

Maryann Paige was born in Brooklyn, New York, lived in Nevada and Texas and landed back in her home state. She resides in the beautiful Hudson Valley and uses the area as the setting for her novels and stories. She attributes the idea for Hidden Shadows to her younger son, who claims to have met the shadow people on a nightly basis. After researching and learning of them, she decided to write a novel loosely based on her son’s experiences. Please visit Maryann at www.maryannpaige.com to find out about her latest novel, Cemetery Gates.

1. Where do you live (city, country)? I live in the Hudson Valley of New York State. It’s an area shrouded in history, natural beauty, and lots of ghost stories.

2. What is the weather like? The weather right now is quite cool. Much to my chagrin, most of the trees in my yard have lost their leaves. I was simply not ready for a bare yard, so I took a leaf and duck-taped it back onto to my usually beautiful red maple. It lasted until, Woodrow, my local woodpecker, realized something was awry and pecked it off of the tree.

3. Would you rather live somewhere else? I dream of someday relocating to the American south. Possibly, Savannah, GA or Gatlinburg in Tennessee. There is something about the south and its people that has always made me feel as if I’m home.

4. Do you have kids? Yes, I have two sons: My older son is thirteen and my younger is ten. My little one was the actual inspiration for my novel Hidden Shadows. It is loosely based upon his experiences with the shadow people.

5. What’s your most favorite thing to eat for breakfast? I must admit that I’m all about bread. A warm piece of Italian bread, fresh of out the oven. If that’s not available, any type of dough will due!

6. Do you have any pets? Yes, I have a cat, Whiskers, and two white parakeets, Snowflake and Blizzard. Life as far as the pet scene is never dull in my house. I’m aware now that the cartoon Tom and Jerry was based upon some true stories.

7. Do you know your neighbors? I know my neighbors very well. We’re a close knit street and it’s very enjoyable. When one needs help, we’re all there. I like it that way. I would do anything for my neighbors and appreciate they’ve always been there for me when I needed them.

8. Pepsi or Coke? For me, without any doubt, it is Coke. Although I love the taste of Pepsi, it makes me sneeze. I have no idea why, but it does.

9. Favorite time of year? My favorite time of the year is fall, especially if an Indian summer is upon us. It’s so much fun, looking at the beautiful colorful leaves and then decorating the backyard for Halloween and dressing up on the day to haunt our neighborhood.

10. Favorite book? Without a doubt, it’s William Shakespeare’s Macbeth. While I love seeing it live, I must admit I’ve read the play more times than I can count. It has a little bit of everything: moral breakdown, greed, and evil.

11. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal? That’s funny. No, I don’t sleep with a stuffed animal, but I do have a special, decorative pillow. The strange thing is I can’t sleep without it. I guess it’s my security.

12. If you could meet one person dead or alive, who would it be? I would have to say Thomas Jefferson. I’ve been a lover of his writings since I was a child. I would like a little bit of input from him for contemporary problems.

13. What’s your favorite alcoholic drink? Without a doubt it’s beer. I do like wine, but it’ll usually give me a headache and harder liquor, well, I cannot handle that at all. Plus, nothing goes better with a summer BBQ than beer.

14. What’s under your bed? While I’m unable to prove it, I know the boogeyman lives there. I’ve heard him and he’s probably why I’ve always been interested in writing horror.

15. Is the glass half empty or half full? My glass is usually always full. I have a positive attitude and try to maintain it. That’s certainly not to say, that there are not time I have thrown the glass against the wall, but it fills right back up. It’s my glass and I can do that.

Leave a Reply

