At Home with Fiction Author Chris DeBrie

Standard

Shakespeare Ashes LAuthor: Chris DeBrie
Title: Shakespeare Ashes
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Buy it at Amazon.com

Chris DeBrie is the author of three novels. As Is dealt with the difficulty of millennial life in humorous ways, and Selective Focus was what he calls ‘a comic book in novel form.’ With Shakespeare Ashes, he takes the reader into the unfiltered thoughts of four very different characters. DeBrie was raised in North Carolina, becoming an Eagle Scout and a solid third baseman. He earned a Bachelors in Communications from Appalachian State University. He then moved to Roanoke, Virginia by closing his eyes and stabbing a map of the United States. DeBrie approaches his craft like a hybrid between a coroner and an anthropologist–thoroughly, unflinching, and with empathy.

Find him on Facebook, or visit www.washyourhandsproductions.com

Where do you live?
Roanoke, Virginia.

Are you married or single?

Single and looking.

Do you have an outside job?
I usually do. Writing and other arts take a lot of time, and creating anything is a solitary act. So being around other people, even when I don’t have to, keeps me from getting lost in my imagination.

What is your favorite thing to do on your day off?
Sleep is always good.

What’s your most favorite thing to eat for breakfast?
Words like ‘breakfast’ are just labels to me. I have a random schedule. I eat when I’m hungry. My favorite food (this year, at least) is the minestrone soup from Carabba’s.

Do you have any pets?
I rescued a cat a few years ago. I named him after Panthero, from the old Thundercats cartoon, because he likes to play-fight and -bite me. A little fighter.

Pepsi or Coke?
I’ll take water or a strong cup of tea.

Favorite time of year?
Fall. I live near the Appalachian Trail, and the autumns in this area are partly what keep me here.

Favorite color?

It’s a tie between royal blue and charcoal gray.

Favorite book?
The Bible comes to mind first. This book is like golf–most people need a lifetime to master it.

What’s on your mousepad?
I have a wireless mouse, and I use my leg or a magazine for a pad.

How many times do you let the phone ring before you answer it?
Once, if I recognize the caller ID.

What’s the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning?
“Where did that dream come from?”

Chocolate or vanilla?
Vanilla ice cream, chocolate cake.

Do you like to drive too fast?
Not since the age of about 25. I got the speeding out of my system. Even if I’m late I take my time. That wouldn’t change unless I suddenly want a Lambo, and who knows?

If you could meet one person dead or alive, who would it be?
Crazy Horse.

What’s your favorite alcoholic drink?
Beer is the ole stand-by.

What is your zodiac sign?
Sagittarius, baby… astrology is just a template in my opinion, but that sign’s traits fit me to about 90%.

Is the glass half empty or half full?
If it’s a cold shot of the good stuff, and it was for me, I’d think the glass would be empty.

Leave a Reply

