At Home with Writer, Editor, Tour Coordinator for Pump Up Your Book Promotion and Reviewer Cheryl Malandrinos

Standard

Cheryl_websiteCheryl C. Malandrinos is a contributor for Writer2Writer.  Her articles help writers increase productivity through time management and organization.  A member of Musing Our Children, Ms. Malandrinos is also the new editor of Musing Our Children’s quarterly newsletter, Pages & Pens.

Cheryl is a Tour Coordinator for Pump Up Your Book Promotion and interviews authors and editors at her blog, The Book Connection.  She lives in Western Massachusetts with her husband and three children.  Visit Cheryl’s website here.

1. Where do you live (city, country)? Wilbraham, MA USA
2. What is the weather like? Right now, in the 80’s and rainy. We’ve had a tremendous amount of rain this year.
3. Have you lived there very long? For over nine years
4. Would you rather live somewhere else? The Outer Banks of North Carolina, which is where we vacation each year.
5. Are you married or single? Very happily married.
6. Do you have kids? We have three, ages 22, soon to be 8 and 5.
7. Where were you born? In a hospital like most people I know.  Springfield, MA.
8. What was your childhood like? I can’t remember, I’ve blocked most of it out. 
9. What was it like growing up as a teen? What did you do for fun? It was tough. My mom died when I was 14 and I grew up very quickly. For fun, I got a job and started saving to travel on class trips to Montreal and Bermuda.
10. Back to the present, what’s your favorite room in your house? That’s a tough one. I turned our formal living room into a playroom/reading room and it has my two large bookshelves sagging with books. I also love the bonus room above our garage, which I have great plans for once it isn’t filled with so many toys. I also spend a lot of time in my office, which is decorated in a nautical theme and has a painting created by one of my virtual book tour clients that reminds me of the Outer Banks.
11. Do you have an outside job? I work from home as a writer, virtual book tour coordinator, a wife and mom.
12. What is your favorite thing to do on your day off? Honey, as a wife and mom there are no days off. Only moments when the rest of the family is occupied and I might get a chance to read.
13. What’s your most favorite thing to eat for breakfast? Toast and tea.
14. Do you have any pets? We have three beautiful cats: Tiger, Killer and Stubby. I had no hand in naming any of them.
15. Do you know your neighbors? Yes, all 24 sets of them and most of their kids.
16. Pepsi or Coke? Definitely Pepsi. Coke is just so, yuck.
17. Favorite time of year? Fall. There is nothing like fall in New England. My writing desk faces the backyard and gives me a great view of the leaves changing colors.
18. Favorite color? Red. When I was much younger I dreamed of owning a candy apple red corvette.
19. Favorite book? The Stand by Stephen King.
20. Does your car look better than your house? A little bit. I’m a neat freak so I try not to let things get too out of hand, even when I’m working on deadline.
21. What’s on your mousepad?
Nothing, it’s just a plain dark green.
22. How many times do you let the phone ring before you answer it? Only three, or the answering machine picks it up. Actually, if we didn’t have a phone, I would be very happy. I prefer email.
23. What’s the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning? I’m hungry.
24. Chocolate or vanilla? Is that even a valid question? Chocolate, of course.
25. Do you like to drive too fast? Not anymore. Those were my pre-kid days.
26. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal? Only if you consider my husband a stuffed animal.
27. If you could meet one person dead or alive, who would it be? Laura Ingalls Wilder. I love reading about and researching the time period in which she grew up and I am admirer of her Little House books.
28. What’s your favorite alcoholic drink? I don’t drink. I’ve just never really enjoyed the taste of alcohol.
29. What is your zodiac sign? Cancer
30. If you could have any job that you wanted, what would it be? I have it. I’m a writer, book reviewer and virtual book tour coordinator. Being a wife and mom is pretty cool too!
31. What’s under your bed? Cat fur.
32. Is the glass half empty or half full? This might surprise people, but it’s always half empty. It takes a lot of effort to curb my pessimistic side. I can encourage others to be positive, but on a whole I’m not like that.

7 responses »

  1. Howdy gang,

    Thanks for dropping in. Morgan, I bet I could whip your house into shape in one day. After that it’s your turn to keep it that way.

    Oh Donna, another neat freak. I love you. I live with three pack rats. Calgon, take me away!!!!

    Jeff and Dot, we can bond against those Coke drinkers anytime.

    Thanks again everyone!

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

